Why I Love Thanksgiving
23 November, 2001 -3:11 p.m.

I completely respect Gina's and Davey's opinions on Thanksgiving but I would like to give my own if I may. I am Mexican American living in Texas. I am also a decendant of the Native Americans living in this area when it was Mexico (The Aztecs, Olmecs, Mayan, Huichol, Yaqui or Mayo, just to name a few). My ancestors lost their land or were completely wiped out by English, Spanish, and French settlers.

To me thats not what Thanksgiving is about. Thanksgiving is about offering up your thanks for what you have achieved over the year. Its about a day where you can just drop all the bullshit and spend time with those you love and be thankful to be alive.

I almost died last year on Nov 15, when I got out of the hopsital it was a few days before Thanksgiving (as a matter of fact I wasnt allowed to get out of bed until Thanksgiving day and I wasnt allowed to leave my house until 2 weeks later). On that Thanksgiving I gave thanks to the fact that I was still alive and able to sit down eat a Turkey dinner and watch a football game.

I guarantee you that those who sit down and eat Thanksgiving arent giving thanks for slaughtering Native Americans all those years ago or even for stealing my families land hundreds of years ago, they are giving thanks to the fact that everyone in their family is healthy and that we can all come together and eat a nice turkey dinner and take peaceful naps even after all this country has been through.

My best friend is a first generation Korean American, (meaning her parent emigrated here from Korea) she sits down with her family on Thanksgiving and celebrates the fact that they were able to move from Korea to the US and successfully start a business. My other grandparents are from Germany and Austria and they celebrate the fact they were able to survive life in Germany during the War, when their chances of survival were slim to none.

Thanksgiving has evolved from being a pilgram holiday. It has a different meaning to everyone and mine isnt as superficial as a paper pilgram hat and broomstick musket. Its a spiritual holiday to me. Maybe because my family prays before dinner, maybe because I almost kicked the bucket this time last year. You can call me a race traitor or an ignorant American but next year I will consider myself blessed if I can sit at a table filled with my family and friends on the next to last Thursday of November.

It may sound selfish and silly to everyone else but that is why I celebrate Thanksgiving.

0 comments so far

previous : next

- - 25 February, 2006
Why I feel my name should be Brokeback Violet - 24 January, 2006
- - 16 January, 2006
Why I am not in a good mood at all.. - 10 January, 2006
relief! - 04 January, 2006