Why am I sounding off on racism you may ask?
2001-08-13 -7:16 p.m.

I hate racists.... A couple of days ago I was at a certain employment agency and I was tryin to get my broke ass a job.... and I had just finished the typing test and go the whole "dont call us we'll call you" speech. As I was walking out to the front where the receptionist was there was a Hispanic man there talking to the secretary. The woman whom was in charge of the office was walkin me out. The receptionist screeched to her that "Maria Vera... Vera... Vera-somthing Mexican is on line two" Now just for verification I am not Mexican... I am half German half Basque, which is a country that was aquired by Spain (Basically "my people" bomb the fuck out of Spain to gain independence).... but overall I liked to be called what I am AMERICAN.... unfortunately I live in a state (country) that if you are brown and live in the south you are Mexican/Puerto Rican/Cuban... not that I have anything against them but how would a Mexican liked to be called Cuban or vice versa....

I found that very offensive though.... Just because her last name was Vera-somthing doesnt mean that it was Mexican... she could have been Puerto Rican or South American... I think it insulted me cuz that is shit that I gotta put up with for as long as I live in fuckin Texas.... I know it would be the fuckin same if I lived in California... or if I lived in Florida they would think I were of Cuban decent... not that I think I am above that but thats just not who I am.... I am a mixture of all kinds of people and all kinds of culture and all kinds of beliefs... why do I have to hold the label "Mexican" just because I have olive skin and live in Texas?

0 comments so far

previous : next

- - 25 February, 2006
Why I feel my name should be Brokeback Violet - 24 January, 2006
- - 16 January, 2006
Why I am not in a good mood at all.. - 10 January, 2006
relief! - 04 January, 2006